(800) 233-9327 scheduling@glfmllc.com

Have you ever wondered what those letters after your court reporter’s name stand for? Those letters showcase a court reporter’s skill and demonstrates their professional commitment. These credentials indicate that they have voluntarily gone through a national certification process that tests their skills and knowledge.

The National Court Reporters Association (NCRA) provides certification testing and continuing education requirements for court reporters who choose to take their profession to the next level. If your court reporter has these letter designations after his/her name, these are standards that you can be assured your court reporter worked very hard to attain.

There are several NCRA certification designations. The main two are:

  • Registered Professional Reporter (RPR) – Court reporters who possess this designation have passed both a written knowledge test and a test involving skills and accuracy. For instance, an RPR must achieve a 95% accuracy on a testimony Q&A skills test at 225 words per minute to pass.
  • Certified Realtime Reporter (CRR) – Court reporters must have their RPR certification as well as demonstrate the ability to operate realtime equipment and accurately write realtime for five minutes at 96% accuracy from question-and-answer testimony at 200 words per minute.

What does this all mean for your next deposition? When your reporter has national certifications, it means:

  • You can trust that they are skilled and proficient
  • You can trust that they are dedicated to their profession
  • You can trust that they are tech savvy
  • You can trust that they are committed to abiding by a professional code of ethics

If you are interested in learning more about court reporting professional certifications or to find a certified reporter, visit ncra.org.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This